image

Went on a little indie bender this time.  I picked this one up on a whim because it seemed to have an interesting concept and was being compared to some other stories that I read and liked.  Was it worth the purchase?  Let’s see.

The Fiction #1 by writer Curt Pires  and artist David Rubin tells the story of a group of three adult friends who have known one another since childhood.  When one of the three mysteriously goes missing, the remaining two remember a similar incident from their childhood, when they used to be a group of four.  The four children found a strange book in an attic and started to read from it.  The words seemingly transported them to a magical world that only three of them returned from.  It’s now 15 years later, and a second member of the group has gone missing in a similar fashion.  The last two remaining members of the group must put aside their differences and work together to find their missing friend.

Pires crafts an interesting story here, in a similar vein to comics like The Unwritten, where characters get pulled into these fantasy worlds where the fiction that they’ve read all their lives becomes reality.  This first half of the issue is a little sparse on the dialogue, but Pires seems to work relatively effectively with Rubin to tell a lot of the story through the artwork, almost like the storyboards for a movie.  So far, I like where the story seems to be headed, but my only complaint is that it could have been a little edgier.  When doing something like this story that is sort of similar to something that’s been done before, I feel like it would be beneficial to add an aspect to make this stand out a little more.  It didn’t kill it for me, but I was hoping for a bit more than what was there.

Rubin’s artwork is VERY cartoonish, and while it does help to give the comic a “storybook” feel, it also felt kind of distracting for me.  I feel like it was over-stylized, particularly in the scenes that take place in the real world.  Once the setting shifts to the fantasy world, the art works well.  There’s a lot of fluidity and a definite sense of flowing motion, almost like certain parts of the story are taking place underwater, but for scenes that are supposed to be a little more grounded, it just didn’t work for me.  That’s not to say I didn’t like the style, but for whatever reason, I just don’t think it matched up very well with the particular story that’s being told here.

Overall, the story that we’re given in this comic is pretty interesting, but I think I went into it with my expectations just a little too high.  I was hoping for more out of this one, but I won’t fault the creators for that, and since I plan to keep reading this series for the next few issues at least, I’m going to lean a little more positive.

The Verdict for The Fiction #1:
4/5 – I can dig it.

Until next time,
Stay nerdy, my friends.

Upcoming reviews:
Planet Hulk #2 (Secret Wars Tie-In)
Where Monsters Dwell #2 (Secret Wars Tie-In)
X-Men ’92 #1 (Secret Wars Tie-In)
East of West, Volume 4: Who Wants War TPB
March of the Crabs, Volume 1: The Crabby Condition

Leave a Reply

