image

Dan Slott and Adam Kubert continue to tell the story of their alternate universe Spidey in hiding with Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows #4.  In this issue we find Peter’s family directly threatened by his antics as Spider-Man, but it might not be quite as bad for Mary Jane and Annie May as you think.  Peter, on the other hand… well, he might be in some serious trouble with this domain’s ruler, The Regent.

So far, through four issues, Slott has weaved this tale very well.  You really get the sense that the Parker family genuinely cares for one another, and it’s nice to have that feeling.  Yes, there’s action, and yes there’s danger, but at the heart of this story, it’s Peter and his wife and daughter, the compassion and concern that they each display for one another, that really moves the plot forward.  I would like to see a little more of the main villain, and have some more depth to his character, but honestly, I’m happy with the main focus of the story right where it’s at.  Bonus points for some classic Spidey villains showing up in surprising roles.

Adam Kubert’s artwork is once again fantastic.  As a true veteran in the industry, he really knows how to pull a scene together.  Annie’s fight scene with some heavyweights was enjoyable to read and see, also, I really like her “superhero costume.”  It so perfectly embodies what every little kid would put together as their own costume, and it’s fun to actually see something like that in the book.

Overall, as I said before, I would like to see a little more depth and backstory for the main villain, and with just one issue of this series left, I don’t think I’m going to get it.  That being said, I feel like there’s more heart in this mini-series than any of the other tie-ins, which makes each issue a great read and that’s why I’ve been enjoying it so much.  I haven’t read many Spider-Man stories in recent years, but I feel like I picked the right one to start up again.

The Verdict for Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows #4:
4/5 – I can dig it.

Until next time,
Stay nerdy, my friends.

Upcoming reviews:
Planet Hulk #4 (Secret Wars Tie-In)
1872 #2 (Secret Wars Tie-In)
Secret Wars Journal #4
Weirdworld #3 (Secret Wars Tie-In)
The Wicked + The Divine, Volume 1: The Faust Act

Leave a Reply

