image

Frank Miller is back with Brian Azzarello to tell the conclusion to Miller’s super-famous Dark Knight Trilogy.  Batman has come out of the shadows once more, but this time it looks like he’s taking on cops instead of the criminals they’re chasing.  There are some whispers of police corruption tossed around, which give us hope that Batman hasn’t completely lost it and started attacking police for no reason.  However, as per usual in Gotham, not all is quite as it seems.

Miller and Azzarello’s story in this chapter’s debut issue is quite interesting.  The parts of the story following Batman are non-stop action as the police are trying to apprehend the masked vigilante before he can injure any more of their fellow members.  There are some whispers of police corruption tossed around, which give us hope that Batman hasn’t completely lost it and started attacking police for no reason.  There are also some undercurrents of a larger story involving heroes with powers here, which I haven’t quite figured out yet, but it certainly seems like it could be play a pivotal role later in the story.  The writers tell this story at a break neck pace.  This being an oversized issue, I was certain it would seem long to get through, but once I started reading it was over before I knew it, and I wanted more, which is a great feeling.

Kubert’s artwork is a little slicker and more polished than I was expecting from a Dark Knight book, but I am by no means complaining.  There’s still a slight, edgy quality to it all, but not quite what I was used to from the original story.  The art does, however, match the speed and pacing of the story, which is always a good thing.

Overall, I enjoyed this first issue and it leaves me eagerly waiting for issue #2, which is some of the highest praise I can offer. If you’re a Batman fan, read this story.

The Verdict for Dark Knight III: The Master Race #1:
5 out of 5

If you like this review, or any of my others, don’t forget to subscribe!

Until next time,
Stay nerdy, my friends.

Leave a Reply

